A European network, reaching as far as the Pacific.

Footprints that are still fresh
In most of the places marked by Stevenson’s passage, his footprints are still fresh today – brough to life in the imagination, perhaps, by his stories of hidden treasure and piratical raids, or simply kept alive in the memory of the villages and towns along his path. In one, a remembered donkey; in another, the first meeting with Fanny, with whom he would share his life; elsewhere, an encounter in a canoe, or the spot where part of a book was written. From these diverse memories, various local initiatives have developed, at first in isolation from one another. Some of these initiatives have grown into sizeable activities, such as, for instance, hiking and travelling with donkeys in the Cévennes in southern France, while others have sought to bring to life the stories of pirates and treasure in Bristol, or set out to retrace canoe trips from Belgium through northern France. An organisation in the north of Scotland takes disadvantaged young people out hiking to rebuild their self-confidence.

Coming together
Over time, contacts have developed between all these groups and associations. In 2013 they decided to create a joint network association, based on these shared values:

  • Openness towards others, celebrating local distinctiveness, supporting minorities, bringing together the peoples of Europe and building tolerance.
  • Protecting and developing the cultural, natural, local and European heritage of the localities though which Robert Louis Stevenson passed, and thereby playing a part in the economic and social development of these areas.
  • Sharing experience and good practice
  • Encouraging cultural tourism as a motive force in the sustainable development of these areas
  • Drawing strength from the mustually reinforcing cultural, environmental and economic dimensions of the activities

It has been by sharing experience, mounting joint projects and launching initiatives together that the network has grown in both size and effectiveness over time.

n_32469_w

The European network association currently consists of 15 member organisations, with further expansion to include partners in the Loire region and in Switzerland, and exchanges also being developed with the USA and Oceania. The association’s registered office is at Fontainebleau (France). The members of its governing board are as follows :

President : Michel LEGROS
Vice-president Belgium : Marc LEGEIN
Vice-president UK : Ian GARDINER
Vice-president France: Christian BROCHIER
Treasurer : Ian FULLER
Secretary : Elisabeth JUBE

Download the Network’s latest newsletters

– March 2016: French version, English version

– February 2014: French version, English version

– July 2014: French version, English version

Un réseau européen, jusqu’au Pacifique. 

Des traces demeurées vivantes
Dans la plupart des lieux où Stevenson est passé, les traces de ce passage sont demeurées vivantes. Elles s’alimentent à l’imaginaire de ses romans qui parlent de trésors cachés, de batailles de pirates ou, plus simplement, les villes et les villages traversés conservent la mémoire de rencontres : ici, le souvenir d’un âne, ailleurs, la rencontre avec Fanny, qui l’accompagnera jusqu’à la fin de sa vie, là, un accostage en canoë, là-bas l’écriture d’une partie d’un ouvrage. Sans se concerter, des initiatives locales sont nées autour de ces souvenirs. Certaines ont connu un très fort développement comme dans les Cévennes dans le sud de la France autour des ânes et de la randonnée, d’autres ont cherché à faire revivre des histoires de pirates ou de chasseurs de trésor comme à Bristol, certains ont entrepris des voyages en canoë de la Belgique au nord de la France. Dans le nord de l’Ecosse, une association a développé des randonnées pour permettre à des jeunes en difficulté de reprendre confiance en eux-mêmes.

La volonté de partage
Progressivement, ces associations et ces groupes se sont rapprochés et ont décidé en 2013 de se fédérer autour de valeurs communes :

  • Ouverture aux autres, découverte des richesses des territoires, soutien aux minorités, rapprochement des peuples européen et tolérance
  • Protéger et valoriser les patrimoines culturels et naturels, locaux et européens des territoires traversés par Robert Louis Stevenson et ainsi participer au développement économique et social de ses territoires
  • Partager les expériences et les bonnes pratiques
  • Favoriser le tourisme culturel comme vecteur de développement durable des territoires
  • Lier dans une même dynamique des approches culturelles, environnementales et économiques.

Développant des échanges, partageant des projets, proposant des initiatives communes, ce réseau s’est conforté au fil du temps.

n_32469_w

Le réseau européen comprend actuellement 15 partenaires et devrait s’élargir aux pays de Loire, à la Suisse. Des échanges s’esquissent avec les Etats-Unis comme avec l’Océanie. Son siège est à Fontainebleau. L’équipe du bureau du réseau est composé comme suit :

Président : Michel LEGROS
Vice-président belge : Marc LEGEIN
Vice-président britannique : Ian GARDINER
Vice-président français : Christian BROCHIER
Trésorier : Ian FULLER
Secrétaire : Elisabeth JUBE

Téléchargez les dernières newsletters du Réseau :

– Mars 2016 : version française, version anglaise

– Février 2014 : version française, version anglaise

– Juillet 2014 : version française, version anglaise